Skip to main content

New School (New York, N.Y.). Board of Trustees



The New School for Social Research was founded in 1919 by Charles A. Beard and James Harvey Robinson, two Columbia University professors who left the institution in protest of the policies of its administration. The Board of Trustees of The New School originally consisted of six women and six men, with Robinson serving as its informal head, with the understanding that he was to be “first among equals,” as Beard and Robinson opposed establishing a hierarchical leadership system for the school. The board was also originally intended to include student representatives, one of whom, Clara Mayer, was appointed in 1924 and eventually became the school’s vice president from 1950 to 1961. In 1934, the Graduate Faculty of the New School for Social Research was granted a provisional charter to confer degrees on graduates by the New York State Board of Regents. By 1936, Alvin S. Johnson, director of the school since 1923, was formally appointed the first president of the school under its Board of Trustees. As of 2023, The New School Board of Trustees continues to govern the institution and its various divisions; the current board chair is Linda E. Rappaport.


Languages Used

  • English

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

New School central administration collection

Identifier: NS-01-01-05

This collection encompasses material related to the overall administration of The New School from 1928-2008. It includes reports, financial papers, board of trustees meeting agendas and minutes, and documents prepared for accrediting by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools. The bulk of the files date from the late 1940s-early 1960s and the 1990s-2000s. Of note is "The New School Study" of 1952, also known as the "Swift Report."

Dates: 1928 - 2012